Remembering

Many people have asked, “Do you remember where you were on 9/11/01?”

I do.  My sister called and told me to turn on the TV.  I remember standing in the living room (of our old house), holding a 3 week old baby, cradling the phone on my shoulder and watching the towers fall.  I remember that when the first tower fell, the commentators did not realize what was happening, but my sister and I (we were on the phone together for a long time) talked about not being able to see  both towers through the smoke.  Its funny, but I don’t really remember watching the  second tower fall, (but I know that I did.)  Very scarey.

Dh came home early from work that day, and worked from home for days.  That was scarey, not knowing when he would be able to go back. He set up his computer in the garage and worked out there (remember we had a tiny baby and a not quite 2yo) until he could go back.

The news coverage was 24 hours a day for the first full week.  (Remember I had a tiny baby, I was nursing and watching TV around the clock.)  It was a full week later before they dropped coverage in the middle of the night.  I don’t remember how long it was before they dropped coverage during the day.

I remember the planes in the following weeks.  Lots and lots of planes.  If you listen to the media, they will tell you that there were no planes in the skies in the weeks that followed, but around here there were lots of MILITARY planes.  We even heard a sonic boom a day or two after 9/11. (The only one I have ever heard.)  Someone was in a big hurry to get from here to DC.

The girls don’t remember it at all.  Kiddo wasn’t even born yet.  We have a book about it, but I haven’t even shown them footage of it.  Maybe I will today.  They know all about it.   Well, maybe not all, I don’t think that I have told them about the jumpers.

Its funny that to the kids it is history, but to me it is a very real thing that I remember happening.

3 Responses to “Remembering”

  1. Jenny Says:

    I don’t think it was me you were on the phone with was it. That day seems so fuzzy to me now. I clearly remember watching the second tower being hit. I remember where I was and what i was doing. I remember calling DH and talking to him about it. I know I tried to call mom, but for some reason could not get through to her. Did I talk to you also? I think I was in shock and now can’t even remember who I talked to.

  2. Jenny Says:

    Elli asked me about it this year, but I really didn’t think she could handle details so I told her a very simple version of the events.

  3. hnracademy Says:

    It wasn’t you, and I can’t remember where our other sister was. (Florida? or overseas?) I don’t remember if I talked to you that day, buy I probably did.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

