Scheduling

I have been working on making schedules for the girls for next school year.  For each subject, I plan out what each child should do each day.  I don’t typically stick to the schedule totally, but I like to have a plan.  I hope to get “ahead” in our schedule, and to use the schedule as a guide to keep us from falling too far behind.  Last year, we often did two days of work in one day, but I didn’t start doing that until we were way “behind” were I wanted to be. 

 I have Dearie’s “readers” scheduled for the year.  She will read 24 books in 36 weeks.  Even though I plan to not do much work on Fridays, I used the 5 day a week schedule for her.  I even bought the extra books for advanced readers.  It is still less than a book a week.  Good thing that the library is close!  The books range in reading level from 2nd grade to 5th grade.  It is good to have some fun and easy books on the list, and several of the books go along with her history.  I don’t want to give her books for older kids because the content is often way too much for an 8 year old.  We will be doing the 4 day a week schedule for history and literature.  This means that there are about 8 books that I bought that won’t be on the schedule.  I may have her read them if she is way ahead with her regular readers.  If not, we will read them this summer.

I have also scheduled her math.  I only did the first trimester though, because I am not usually very good at guessing how fast she will go.  I try to make the schedule “easy” so that she can easily get “ahead”, but sometimes I ask too much of her and frustrate her.  So I will schedule the last 2/3 of the year when we get there.

I just got Dearie’s Language Arts program today.  I have started scheduling that, but since it is a new program, I am having a hard time deciding how much she should do each day.  I am trying to make it “easy” also so that she can work “ahead.”  I want her to have that feeling of being able to skip a day if she wants. 

 I want her to feel the excitement of finishing something.  For a long time we have done school work every day (except in the summer) and when she finishes something we just go on to the next thing.   I am hoping that the schedule will give her the feeling of a job well done.

I am  going to give her the schedule to do in whatever order she likes.  I will check in with her each day to make sure that at least that day’s work got done, (or there will be ‘homework’) but she will have a lot more responsibility.  This will also give me more time to work with Honey and Kiddo.

For History and Literature I will just follow the Sonlight schedule.  No reason to re-invent the wheel. 

Dearie’s Science is not here yet.  I don’t expect it until Sept.  It is a new program (a new level to an old program) and won’t be ready until Sept.  We may have to start school without it as there is a good chance that it will be delayed.  I got a good discount on it for this reason.  It is a 5th-6th grade program, and I hope that it will be enough for her.  I think that learning how to learn on your own is a big step, so I went with a little easier program than if I was planning on teaching it myself.  The books are written to the student and she should be able to do most of it on her own.

I aslo got Honey’s math today.  I think that she is going to like it better than her old math books.  I will probably schedule it out.  I think that she should finish the books (there are 2 books for first grade) by the end of the year.  If she goes faster, I know where to get more books.

Honey will be doing reading on the computer, so there really is no scheduling to that.  I will have her work through the first grade readers that I have.  She is doing a lot better in the last couple of weeks.  I think that the vision therapy is really helping. 

Honey and Kiddo will be doing History, Literature, and Science together.  Mostly these programs are me reading to them.  There are Science worksheets for them to do, I hope they enjoy them.  Dearie did.

I’m still not sure what I will do for PE, but if I can find something that will get them moving when there is a foot of snow on the ground, I will be happy.  I have a couple of ideas, but they have not really taken shape yet.

Well, that is what our next year looks like.  It seems kind of overwhelming, but I know from past experience, that it won’t be too hard at all.

2 Responses to “Scheduling”

  1. Joy Says:

    The YMCA in Kettering has a GREAT PE program on Fridays. They will have swim, gym, and a sport and it lasts for 2 hours!!! Talk about a BREAK! 🙂

  2. hnracademy Says:

    Unfortunately, Friday is the day we have vision therepy. It sounds like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

