Adding Fractions is easy.

Dearie has been working on fractions lately.  She is learning to compare unlike fractions.  (Is 5/8 bigger or smaller than 6/7?)  I can see that this is just one little step from adding these fractions.  So tonight, we had oranges for dinner.  I cut them into fourth.  Kiddo had two fourths, then Dh cut the rest of the pieces into eights, and she had 5 more pieces.  We were commenting on how much orange Kiddo had eaten, and so I asked Dearie how much is 2/4 plus 5/8.  She thought about it a while and said 1 and 1/8.  I asked her how she did it and she said that she changed the 2/4 to 4/8 and then added it to the 5/8. 

This kid is so easy to teach math to.  She has me totally spoiled.  If she was my only student, I would think that I was the best teacher in the world.  But then there is Honey, she keeps me humble.  If I work hard I can explain things so that she understands, but she rarely figures things out for herself (at least not without a lot of me leading her to the answer).  Kiddo on the other hand is more like Dearie, but I don’t have the time to spend with her that I did with Dearie.  I need to work on that.  I wish all of school was as easy as fraction is for Dearie.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

