The first Apologia Test

As you know, Dearie (8yo) is doing Apologia General Science (written for 7th graders).  She has been doing a good job with it, and took her first test yesterday.  She got 71%.  I was hoping for a better grade, but when I looked at the actual test, I realized that there is a learning curve going on here.  She knows the material, but she had no idea how to take a test like this.  The first six points (out of 21) required her to define vocabulary words from the text.  She knew what they meant, but refused to even try on 4 of them.  Part of the problem was that she hates to write, and that was an awful lot of writing to her.  She missed another question because she read it wrong.  (She got the answer right for what she thought the question was.)  So that leaves only one question that she really didn’t know.  Anyway, I logged the grade as 71% and decided that she should go on to the next module.  Maybe with practice she will get better at this kind of test.

I do wish I knew what kind of adjustments to make to the course for her.  I want to keep it a 7th grade level course, but I also don’t want to destroy her love of science.  Right now the concessions I have made are:

1. Start in the middle of the text with material that she is more familiar with.

2. Let her take 3 or 4 weeks to do a module instead of 2 or 3.

3. Let her do the study questions orally instead of writing them down.

4. Not having her write up every experiment.  (This is the one that bothers me the most.  I think that she should be writing them up, but it is so difficult for her that I caved on the first module.  I think that I will have her do all of the write-up for this module.)

Overall I am happy with how this science is working out.  She is actually learning new things.  I’m sure that would not be the case with a curriculum designed for younger kids.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The first Apologia Test”

  1. Kelly Says:

    About the write up of experiments. First, could she type some of it instead of writing? Perhaps you could have her dictate part of it. Or, if she is crafty, she could lapbook it with charts, graphs, fun folding info flaps and stuff like that. Just a thought.

  2. hnracademy Says:

    You know we just did this. She had a few days off after finishing the module. The next module starts with an expieriment. I had her copy the supply list and procedure (gotta love that copy machine) and tape them onto the write-up form. She still had to write out her hypothesis, which she thought was too much writing, but hey, you gotta write some!

    I don’t know about the lapbook thing. She might think that is just too much work. I’ll have to think about that one.

Leave a Reply

