Be made perfect.

I was reading my Bible this morning when I read this:

2 Corinthians  13:11  Finally, brothers, good-by. Aim for perfection, listen to my appeal, be of one mind, live in peace. And the God of love and peace will be with you.

Aim for perfection!  My heart rate must have doubled!  I CAN NOT DO THAT!  I have tried, but I can’t be perfect.  It’s just not possible, and when I try, I get so discouraged that I soon give up.  When I give up things are not pretty.  So, after I calmed down a little, I decided to see what some of the other versions said.  (A nice perk to reading the Bible on-line is that it is easy to change versions.) 

King James said: “Be perfect.”    New American Standard said: “be made complete”  O.K. no help there.

Then I checked Young’s literal translation.  This is an interesting translation.  It simply translates every word in the original language.  Because of differences in syntex and word order between the original language and English, it often makes little sense.  However, it can be helpful to figure out what the original meaning was. 

The Young’s literal translation said: “be made perfect.”  That I could do.  I could let God make me perfect.  It would be a process, and it wouldn’t be easy, but God would be doing most of the work.  He would be making me perfect.  The New American Standard said, “Be made complete.”  That is something else that I could do.  I could let God make me complete.  As long as God is in control of my life, I can do anything, even be made perfect.

Leave a Reply

