Compacting Math

Dearie started a new math book at the beginning of Dec.  (Singapore 4A)  A lot of the book is review as she has been doing two different programs (Singapore and Miquion) but she has always just kept with it and done the whole book.  This time I decided to do what is called compact her math.  For us (I’m not sure everyone does it this way, but it made sense to me.) it means letting her do the reviews at the end of each section first.  Then going back and doing whatever topics she need more practice with.  After the first review I found that she did not know how to multiply a two digit number by a two digit number.  I showed her how to do it, and then had her do a few problems.  She did them all wrong.  We talked about why they were wrong and she did a few more and did them all right.  (This kid is so easy to teach!)  If she understands it, then she gets it.  She doesn’t need to do 100 problems to get, she just needs to understand it.  (Not all kids are like this, I know, I have one that isn’t.) 

 Yesterday we moved on.  This time I zoomed through the textbook with her because I thought that there were some new topics in this section.  I didn’t think that she knew how to add fractions that had different denominators. 

1/3 + 1/6

I was wrong.  She did all of the examples perfectly.  She said that she had done them before.  So today we will move on mixed fractions, (1 1/2) but those will be a review too I think.  At this rate, she will be done with the book by the end of the month.  I guess that is better than taking 6 months and hating math because it is all review.   Maybe I should start looking at algebra programs?

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Compacting Math”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Our oldest just discovered that she loves mazes. She thinks they are so fun and easy, so I printed out some more difficult ones for her. She did two and then on the third she gave up because she “just can’t get it.” I encouraged her to try again and she did, but ended up not finishing it. I guess it being fun is better than hating it.

  2. hnracademy Says:

    For a kid that everything comes easy to, it is emotionally difficult if they don’t just “get it.” I even ran in to some of that today. Dearie was adding fractions and then reducing the answer. She could do it, but not in her head. It seemed that she thought that she was a failure. (Meaning she started balking at doing the problems. She doesn’t want to do anything unless it is easy.) I just assigned more, unfortunatly I didn’t look very carefully and she did all of her extra problems in her head. They were easy.

    For your daughter, you may want to think about finding something that she has to work at in order to master. We do piano for this reason, but I think that we waited too long. We should have started Dearie earlier. On the mazes, just leave them out. She may come back to them and find them easy, you never know. (Or you could show her how to work them backwards. They are often a lot easier that way.)

  3. Jenny Says:

    You know, I never showed her how to do them. All I said was to start at the green arrow and try to get to the red arrow. The easy ones she had no trouble with, but then on the harder ones, I saw her trying to work them backwards. She figured out how to get them done. 🙂

  4. hnracademy Says:

    Thats impressive that she figured out how to work them backwards! Sounds like someone might need some maze books for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

