Ganglion Cyst

I had a ganglion cyst on my finger.  HAD.  It is now gone.  It will probably come back though.

I went to an orthopedic today about my ganglion cyst.  He numbed my finger and then drained the cyst.  He put in a needle and sucked out the stuff that was in there.  It was pretty cool to watch.  (I’m weird, I know.)  It was not full of fluid as he had expected, instead there was a small blood clot inside.  He said that it probably had drained on its own, but the blood clot had kept it from going away altogether.  He put a shot of cortozone in my finger to prevent the cyst from coming back, but the statistics are not on my side.  Most ganglion cysts do come back.  Oh well, at least I won’t have to worry about it until dh’s arm is healed.  We need to have at least one adult with a functioning dominate hand in this house.

Leave a Reply

