BOB

Bob has come to live at our house.  I love Bob.  Bob is an electronic device that controls access to the TV.  No one can access the TV (or the Wii) without going through Bob.  Bob will also turn off the TV if a child trys to use too much TV time.  The child can then get mad at Bob, but Bob is a box and doesn’t care how mad the child is.  It cannot be convinced to give the child more time.  (Mom can sometimes be talked into more time.) 

We have had ChidSafe on our computer for some time now.  It controls how much time each child has on the computer.  It worked really well for us, so when the Wii came to our house we got Bob.  We have been using it for a couple of days now, and no one has complained when Bob shut them off.  Woe to the mom that tries that trick though.  I also have a hard time keeping track of the time, Bob knows to the second how long each child has been on.  I am glad that we got Bob.

OK, I was just interrupted by a child asking if she could have more computer time.  I said no because she was watching the other children on the Wii.  (If everyone watches everyone on the computer and Wii and they have TV time, it adds up to 4 and 1/2 hours per day.) She went ballistic, and I can see that even with ChidSafe and Bob, I still get to parent my children.  I still have to say no sometimes.  Oh well, at least they help.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “BOB”

  1. Andrea Says:

    I wanna a “BOB”!!!! We JUST asked “Best Buy” if they had them…they did not. Where’d you get yours? (and don’t say “Best Buy”!!! hehe)

  2. hnracademy Says:

    We got ours at Family Safe Media. It was even cheaper than at Amazon, and they shipped it really fast. I do like BOB!

Leave a Reply

