Could it be Dyslexia?

I have known for a long time that Honey does not learn like the other kids do.  She does learn, but her methods of figuring things out are different.  Someone on the Sonlight Forums posted a link to a long list of Dyslexia symptoms.  Honey has almost everyone.  Vision Therapy has helped her a lot, but it did not cure her.   I really believe that her brain is just wired differently.  I have had to drastically change the way I teach her.  It has worked for math, and now I am trying to figure out what to do differently for reading.  I really believe that if I teach it right she will eventually learn it.  (This can be a dangerous thing to believe though, because if she never learns it, then I am the failure.)  So I have been off on a search to find something to help her learn to read. 

With math I had the advantage it being very sequential.  I could teach the steps one at a time, but at the same time add in other topics to encourage upper level thinking.  I think that the same thing is possible with reading, but I am not as familiar with the steps.  With the other girls, I taught letter sounds, how to sound out a word, and then let them practice.  Their brains are wired in a way that they could figure it out from there.  Honey got to the point that she knew some words by sight, and knew that she should know more words by sight, and started guessing.  With the help of pictures and contex, she has become a very good guesser. 

So I guess that I need to figure out how to do the drilling that she needs to learn to decode new words, and make it fun.  I think that we will get through this, but if it really is dyslexia, then it will be a lifelong thing for Honey.  I hope to be able to give her the tools she needs to be able to deal with it, but it will never go away.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Could it be Dyslexia?”

  1. Jenny Says:

    We’ve been off line and I’m just now getting caught up. Have you looked at the color films that you lay over the reading. For some reason they help children focus on the letters and words. We got one for the kid Christian was tutoring. Unfortunately, different colors work best for different kids. Kind of a trial and error thing.

  2. hnracademy Says:

    I know about those, but I really hadn’t thought of trying them on Honey. It seems that there are other problems to fix first. I do have to go to the teacher store this week though, and I think that I have seen them there, maybe I will get some.

Leave a Reply

