Evaluation Weekend

This weekend turned out to be evaluation weekend for us.  Honey had her thing at the school on Friday morning, and Dearie took the Explore test on Sat. morning.  So here are my thought on what I have found out so far.

Honey:  The lady at the school said that she was right on target for first grade.  She said that she just needs more practice reading.  To become a good reader, you have to read A LOT.  I think that she took one look at the math scores on Honey’s standardized test from last year (very high score) and decided that I was a pushy parent.  She did admit that the reading score was very low compared to the other scores, but that it was still in the normal range.  She had never heard of twice exceptional children.  Let me say that again; she did not know what the term was.  If Honey is twice exceptional, and you know that I think that she is, how can a professional who does not know what twice exceptional is help a twice exceptional child?  Honey’s score may be in the normal range, but it is NOT normal for her.  Normal for her would be very high.  (Not trying to brag here, just stating the facts.)  If her math and other scores were in the “normal” range, and her reading score was in the failing range, then they would have seen the problem.  Can you see what I’m getting at here?

I did not tell her that Honey has been sounding out words for three years now, I didn’t think of it at the time.  I did not tell her that Honey has had a ton of practice reading and that it is not helping.  Anyway,  I don’t think that we will be getting any help from this angle.  I am researching ways of teaching reading and have switched Honey’s curriculum (again).  I am going with one that is designed for dyslexics.  If she is dyslexic it will help, if she is not, it won’t hurt.  I am sure that this kid can learn to read and I’m not going to give up until she is reading well!

Dearie’s test was Sat. morning.  It went well.  There was a whole classroom full of little third graders taking this eighth grade test.  She said that she guessed on a lot of the questions, but the idea of the test is that she won’t be able to get everything right (unlike other tests).  Now comes the hardest part: waiting 4-6 weeks for the results!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Evaluation Weekend”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Unfortuantely professionals are taught to teach to the middle. A 2E child is not going to fit into any one category (which is often how children are looked at – by what category they fit into.) Be very glad that you are HSing because she would get by for a very long time before anyone figured out that she was not at the level they thought she was at.

  2. hnracademy Says:

    You are so right. We started homeschooling for Dearie, but it looks like Honey may benefit even more. I don’t know what I was thinking taking her to the school. I should have known better.

Leave a Reply

