Update on Organizing the Kitchen.

Well, today is the first of February, and I am not done with the kitchen.  In fact, I am only about half done.  I still have a lot of de-cluttering to do, a couple of drawers and several cabinets.  I still have some work to do on making things work well.  The next step is to consider Rabbit Trails.  What things do I do often, that I run all over the kitchen (or house) to gather the stuff needed to do those things.  Can I move some stuff to make it easier to do those things?  In some cases yes, and in some cases no.  So, considering all of this, I am going to spend another month on the kitchen. 

I have done a lot in the kitchen so far.  I have:

moved the dishes so that the kids can put them away and set the table.

bought a spice rack so that I no longer waste time looking for spices that I know I have.

installed a pull-out drawer in the cabinet where I keep the pots and pans.  This makes it easier to get them out and put them away.

de-cluttered the counters, and made (and am keeping) a goal of keeping them clear.

 

I still have a lot to do. I have to:

de-clutter several cabinets and a couple of drawers.

replace the flooring (wish me luck with this one!)

paint the walls (I don’t know if this one will happen either). 

 

I have learned several things so far.  I have learned that:

I have to run the dishwasher AT LEAST twice a day.

it is better to run the dishwasher 3/4 full, than to wait until it is full.  If I wait until the dishwasher is full, then there are dishes left over and they clutter up the counters. 

the kids CAN load, unload, and start the dishwasher.

the kids (it is now Kiddo’s job) can set the table.

that little changes can make big differences.  (Changes like moving the dishes so that the kids can get to them.  I didn’t even put them down low, I just moved them to where a ladder can reach them.)

 

Things are looking up as far as the kitchen goes.  I just wish that the whole house looked so good.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Update on Organizing the Kitchen.”

  1. kelly Says:

    baby steps, baby steps…..

    Changing habits and reorganizing doesn’t happen overnight. The main key….it is happening. Also, the kitchen is a main hub of your house so two months is very reasonable. Think about how much time is spent there and how much traffic it gets. Can’t wait to hear about the rest of the changes.

Leave a Reply

