Time to Learn Python.

The time has come for me to learn Python. 

Dh and I decided last year that when Dearie was in the fourth grade, I would teach her a programming language.  I learned one at that age and it is a good introduction to logic.  We went round and round about which one to teach her, and Dh (who is familiar with many currently used languages) decided on Python.  So, now I have to learn it so that I can teach it. 

A couple of days ago, Dh installed Python on my computer and brought me his favorite Python book (The Quick Python Book) and I am on my way to learning Python.  The book seem pretty good, but it is not a book for a child who has never programmed before.  He has several other resources (books, DVDs) that I can use with Dearie, but for now I am trying to get myself up to speed on Python.  It has been over 10 years since I have done any programming.  I had forgotten how much fun it can be.

You may wonder what Dearie thinks about all of this.  I have a couple of stories that will answer that question.  The other day I told her that I was going to have Dh put JAVA (another language that we had considered) on my computer.  She corrected me, “No Mom, you have to learn Python!”  How could she remember which one when I had totally forgotten?  Then the other night, when I was putting her to bed, I told her that Dh was installing Python on my computer.  She jumped up and hugged me.  She asked me why now, when she wouldn’t get to start until next year?  I told her that I needed to learn it first, and if I learned it fast then maybe she could start a little earlier.  She hugged me again.  I think that she is excited about getting started.  It is going to be fun teaching her programming.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

