Favorite numbers

Today I was doing math with Honey while Dearie was in the room.  I was reading numbers to Honey and she was writing them down.  (There are still several numbers that are a challenge to her, especially the teens.)  So I am reading the numbers:

“Twenty”

“Twelve”

“Eighteen”

When I hear, “That’s my favorite number.  Well, actually negative eighteen is my favorite.”

What!?! 

So then I did an inventory of everyone’s favorite numbers.

Dearie: -18

Honey: 14

Kiddo: 5

Well, at least Kiddo has an ordinary favorite number.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Favorite numbers”

  1. Jenny Says:

    I think my daughters favorite number might be twenty-eighty as she says it. I’m still not sure if she means 28 or something much bigger.

  2. kelly Says:

    speaking of teaching teens….one of the programs I used presented them with nicknames. It helped K remember. Anyway, they teach one T one(11), one T two(12), one T three(13) and so one. The one T stands for 10. Now that I think about it, it was probably math-u-see.

    no favorite numbers here (to my knowledge)

  3. hnracademy Says:

    Its funny that you mention that. Both Dearie and Kiddo figured out that way of counting on their own. Both Math-U-See and Right start use a more discriptive way of counting. I use that way of counting with Honey (but not as often as I should), but even though she knows how many tens and how many ones, she will write it down wrong. She does it with other numbers too, but more often with the teens. It is one of those things that seems difficult for her to ‘get’.

  4. Jenny Says:

    Ok, so after I asked her which number she really liked she said one million. And then she said she likes all of the numbers, especially 7,8,9, 5, 15, 15, and 19.

  5. kelly Says:

    Well, I just checked with my older kids and they are sooooo creative. M said he didn’t have one and K said her age, 13 and next year will be 14 and so on. Then M replied, well I guess 10 then. S didn’t get involved in the converstation.

Leave a Reply

