Practice with adding double digit numbers.

We played a new math game today.  Honey’s math book has been reviewing double digit addition, but she hates to write it down in the book.  So today, I pulled out the dice and the white board and the base 10 blocks and started a new game.  This game reviewed place value and addition.

To play, I found 2 dice that would only add up to 9 if each die rolled the largest number.  This was a 4 sided die, and 6 sided die with the numbers 2,3,3,4,4, and 5 printed on it.  I am still using only dice with printed numbers, I want to focus on addition not counting dots.  Then I found two 6 sided dice with the numbers 1-6 on them.  All of the dice look a little different (one blue, one green, one small white, one large white).   I drew blanks on the white board to represent a double digit addition problem and rolled the dice.  Each die was assigned a blank (so that the ones place could only get up to a 9, we have not started regrouping or carrying yet) and I worked the addition problem.  Then I took that number of base ten blocks and added it to my pile.  The first player to get the thousand block, wins.

Of course we ran out of base ten blocks about halfway through (there are only ten 100 flats), but we just pulled out the cuisenaire rods and kept playing.  Honey won, of course.  She had no problem working the problems, so I won’t make her do the ones in the book.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

