Can I do Math?

Yesterday afternoon Honey came up to me and said, “Can I do math Mom?”  I looked at her and said, “Why?”  I mean, this was Honey after all.  She has NEVER asked to do math before.  Cry, run away, refuse to do it, yes she has done those, but never ask to do math with a smile on her face.  She just asked again, “Can I?”  I said, “No chocolate chips!”  (Yes, I have been known to bribe her to do math, sigh.)  She said, “That’s OK.  Can I?”  I kept pushing and it finally came out.  When she does a test in her math book, (about once ever two weeks if she does a math lesson a day) she gets a prize, and she really wanted her prize.  So I said, “OK”  and she did a lesson before dinner (took her less than ten min.) and did the test after dinner.  She did a total of 3 1/2 lessons and the test yesterday.  (She did a lot during math time too.)   This is how math is supposed to be, easy and fun! 

This is really making me re-think what curriculum to use for next year.  Horizon’s (what she is using now) is back on the table.  Now the section that she is working on now, is doing a lot of “fun” topics: fractions, time, place value, and shapes.  She has not had any drilling of the math facts in this section.  (I’m sure that it will be back.)  I think that this is why she is suddenly interested in math.   It does not mean that I have suddenly changed my mind.  It does mean that I won’t be buying any curriculum for Honey at the homeschool convention.  I will look, I will see what is available, but I won’t buy until she finishes this year and I see how the rest of the year goes.  If I don’t have to switch, I won’t.  Horizon’s is a good program, and I truly believe in not fixing what is not broken.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

