Now what?

I have known that there was too much in my schedule for a long time, but I couldn’t figure out where the problem was.  I would look at my schedule and think, “It should work, I’m just being lazy.”  And then when it didn’t work, I would stop trying.  It’s better to just not try, then to try and fail, right?  I didn’t really think all of these things in the front of my head, but I’m sure that they were in there somewhere. 

So now that I can see the problem, how do I fix it?  Well, step 1 is to figure out just how long things really take.  I know that I can’t do kitchen stuff in the morning in 15 min, but I doubt that it takes two hours either.  So I am writing down how long it takes me to do the things I have to do.  (Things like getting wheat ready, putting stuff in the bread machine, unloading/loading the dishwasher and cleaning off the counters.)  But I think that I need to be careful not to hyper-focus on this one part of the day.  There are also things like exercising and laundry and vacuuming and mopping and other cleaning chores that need to be done at least once in a while (dusting, cleaning the fridge, and other stuff like that).  The once in a while stuff is really suffering,  school takes so long that there are just not enough hours in the day to do everything!

I don’t want to mess with the school schedule.  It is working for the first time in a couple of years, and I don’t want to mess that up.  I do need to look closer at how the interruptions to our week affect the schedule (things like Bible Bowl and piano), but overall it works pretty well.

You know, I think that I am afraid that if I figure it all out, there won’t be enough time left for any fun stuff.  I have to remember that fun stuff is important too.  I can’t function if all I do is chores all day long…

3 Responses to “Now what?”

  1. ksb08 Says:

    Balance….that has been my key word this year. The problem is, I still haven’t figured it out. I know what you mean though…there are days where I feel like I haven’t had one break from all the stuff and when do I get to do something fun. Well, Pray for insight…that’s the only way to possibly figure it out.

  2. Sandwich in Wi Says:

    10 minutes! Take 10 minute breaks and everyone do a 10 min. chore. I think that was a Flylady tip. You can do a lot in 10 min. Clean a kitchen drawer, vacuum the living room, pull down all the cobwebs from the ceiling. Don’t try to do it all, just work for 10 min.

    Do your kids do chores? Mine clean up after meals and unload the dishwasher (it’s pretty random–whoever volunteers gets to do it and if no one volunteers, I choose). I load the dishwasher, because no one else can do it right LOL.

    This may not work for you, but we have a nickel chart. Every chore is worth a nickel. They keep track on a chart and on Sunday Dad forks over the dough. 14 yo, in summer, makes over $10 a week. The two middles generally make less than $2 a week. They don’t care as much and they forget to write things down.

    Wash a load, hang out a load, fold a load = 15 cents. Clean up lunch, unload the dishwasher, 10 cents. Put away your laundry = 5 cents.

    Blessings,
    Sandwich

  3. hnracademy Says:

    I like the nickle idea, but my girls are already doing a lot of chores. (I will have to keep that on in mind for summer when we don’t have such a regular schedule.) They keep the bathrooms clean, they do the laundry, they unload the dishwasher (Dearie does it once, I do it once or twice a day), they take out the trash, they pick up the clutter… They already do A LOT, but they live here, they make messes they have to help keep it up.

    I have been doing some cooking things this week to make it easier when we start school again. With our allergies, there are few shortcuts that we can take, but there are several things that can be done ahead. That is what I have been working on.

Leave a Reply

