School is going better.

School has gotten better each day this week.  I knew that it would, but it is always hard to have a rough beginning.  The kids (especially Dearie) have settled into the fact that school has to be done, whether they want to do it or not.  Dearie has even done some writing this week.  Her assignment was to write a letter to President Lincoln.  She thought that was rather dumb, he is dead after all, but she did it and did a good job with it. 

Today Dearie even finished school early so that she could go out and play in the snow.  Then when she was outside, she shoveled the driveway instead of playing!  I went out and helped her finish, but she did most of the work.  That was a big help as there was a lot of snow (with more on the way) out there! 

As long as we stick with the schedule, school will be fine for a while.  If I get lazy and skip a day or even half a day, then the kids get the idea that school is optional, so I guess that means that I am not allowed to skip anymore. 😦  (I did school this morning, even though I had a migraine, so I guess that skipping isn’t as much a problem for me as it used to be.)

I am even doing better with the later part of my schedule.  From the time school is over until dinner, I get to do things like plan for tomorrow, laundry, exercise, vacuum or mop, chores and desk work.  So far this week I have stuck with the program and done what is on the schedule.  I’m not sure it is making that much of a difference, but I will stick with it for a while and see what happens.  It is nice to not have to plan a school day at 7:45 when school starts at 8:00. 😉

One Response to “School is going better.”

  1. ksb08 Says:

    I know what you mean…my kids are the same way….always looking for a reason not to do school and trying to convince me it is a good one.

Leave a Reply

