That’s Milk? Step 1; learning about what we put in our mouths.

Last Friday I talked about my three steps for healthier eating.  Today I am going to talk about what it is that we are eating.  Most of those strange things that you see on the label of the foods you buy actually come from something you recognize.  Take milk for instance, it is in a lot more things than you would expect.  Here is a list of things that come from or contain milk:

Artificial butter flavor, butter fat, and butter oil
Casein and caseinates (in all forms)
Cheese flavor
Curds
Ghee
Hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey protein)
Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate, lactoglobulin, lactoferrin, lactulose
Nougat
Rennet, rennet casein
Recaldent™, used in tooth-whitening chewing gums
Simplesse®
Whey (in all forms)

Did you know that when you read Lactabumin on the label it means that there is some milk in the product? 

Let’s look at a list of ingredients.  Can you guess what this is?

Modified Food Starch, Sugar, Salt, Onion, Mushrooms, Garlic Powder Spices (Including Paprika and Parsley), Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Whey (From Milk), Natural Flavors (Contains Beef and Pork), Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Torula Yeast, Citric Acid, Buttermilk, Non Fat Milk.

This is the list of ingredients from “Lawry’s Spaghetti Sauce Spice & Seasonings, Original Style, 1.5-Ounce Packets.”  Spaghetti sauce!  I don’t put milk in my spaghetti sauce, but I suppose that some people do, but do they use Whey?  Of course not, they would use real milk. (I will save how there are at least 6 forms of MSG in this packet for a later post.)  Hmmm, I make spaghetti sauce from tomatoes.  I don’t see any tomatoes on the list, maybe it is  in Natural Flavors?  Now this is a list from a powdered packet that you need to add water to, what about a jar of spaghetti sauce is it any better?

Ragu ingredients: tomato puree (water, tomato paste); soybean oil; high-fructose corn syrup; salt; dried onions; extra virgin olive oil; Romano cheese; spices; natural flavor. 

I think that this is better, it lists cheese and not just some component of milk.  It has real tomatoes (or at least tomato paste) in it.   This seems more like what you would make at home, but I bet that you wouldn’t use HFCS in your spaghetti sauce. 

How about a puzzle?  I will list some ingredients and you tell me what the product is.

granola (whole grain rolled oats, brown sugar, crisp rice [rice flour, sugar, salt, malted barley extract], whole grain rolled wheat, partially hydrogenated soybean and cottonseed oils with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness and/or sunflower oil with natural tocopherol added to preserve freshness, dried coconut, whole wheat flour, sodium bicarbonate, soy lecithin, caramel color, nonfat dry milk), semisweet chocolate chips (sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla extract), crisp rice (rice, sugar, salt, barley malt), high fructose corn syrup, sugar, corn syrup solids, glycerin, partially hydrogenated soybean and/or cottonseed oil, sorbitol, calcium carbonate, salt, water, soy lecithin, molasses, natural and artificial flavors, BHT (a preservative), citric acid.

 I will post the answer next Friday.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “That’s Milk? Step 1; learning about what we put in our mouths.”

  1. Jenny Says:

    My guess is some kind of granola bar that claims to be healthy by saying it is whole grain. It has chocolate chips in it though so I don’t see how it could be healthy. With all of the oils it is probably a chewy kind. That or it is some kind of “healthy” cookie.

    Maybe I spend too much time looking at labels. I usually put it back on the shelf after reading three ingredients. Why bother. I know why I bother, so I can figure out how to make my own without the junk in it.

    Can’t wait to see how close I am (or how far off I am).

Leave a Reply

