Sap, Syrup, Yum!

We collected and boiled down sap this year.  I ended up boiling all down in the house.  I know that “they” say that you can’t do it in the house, but since when do I do anything the normal way anyway?  When we started making syrup this year, the humidity in the house was so low, that Dh told me to do some in the house just to increase the humidity a bit, LOL.  I set up fans to circulate the warm air and didn’t have any problems.  So far we have made about 2 gallons worth.  The first quart is about gone (we had a warm spell in Feb. and that is when I boiled down the first quart).  I have 6 more quarts on the shelf that should last us about a year.  I have a few extra (cup size) jars that I plan to give away.  It is really good on ice cream as well as pancakes!

We tapped ten trees (all maples this year) and didn’t quite get the expected quart of syrup per tree, but it has been a really strange (short) year for sap.  I think that we did pretty well.  Last time I tapped a walnut tree and two ash trees as well as three maple trees.  The ash trees didn’t give much sap, but the walnut tree gave a lot.  What most people don’t know is that you can make syrup from just about any tree, but maples have a lot more sugar in their sap than other trees.  This means that last time I boiled a lot longer than I would have if I had only tapped maple trees.  I know the trees in my backyard a little better now than before.  I don’t think that I will make that mistake again!

3 Responses to “Sap, Syrup, Yum!”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Oh, oh, oh, oh, do we get some? You know we would love it. I wish Elli could have come over. Her girl scout trip about tapping trees and making syrup was canceled. Oh well. At least she got to help tap a tree.

  2. hnracademy Says:

    Sure, and if you could make it this week she could still see it. I got a good bit today (it got down below freezing last night). Call me!

  3. ksb08 Says:

    Fun, fun, fun….:( I’m missing all the fun. Anyway, I was explaining the process to Matthew and he wanted to know if you were going to sell the syrup to make ‘easy’ money….Oh the way his brain works….:)

Leave a Reply

