The Way They Think

Kiddo has a phonics workbook (Explode the Code) that asks her to read silly sentences and answer yes or no.  The point is to see if they can read the sentences, but I really have no idea how a classroom teacher could grade these.  I mean, there was one that said, “Can a deaf person hear you scream?”  Kiddo marked yes of course because we have a friend who is deaf and has cochlear implants and can definitely hear the kids scream.

The one she did yesterday said this: “If your full glass is bottomless will you ever get thirsty?”  Kiddo marked yes so I asked her why.  She said, “If I am not close to the glass I will get thirsty.”  Later that day I asked Dearie the same question and she said, “Yes, if it is bottomless then all the water would run out.”  When I asked Honey the question she said, “No, I would just slurp up the water from the table.”    Sometimes I feel like I should tell them not to think so hard!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Way They Think”

  1. ksb08 Says:

    I remember having the same issues with my kids and those books. It also showed how one of my children thinks totally different from me. And now, I get to do it all over again with #3.

  2. Jenny Says:

    Elli answered no to a question about whether golf was fun or not. I asked her why and she replied that it was no fun to watch a person hit a ball all day long. Guess we have not gone put-put golfing enough lately. 🙂

Leave a Reply

