Sensitive Kid

Last week we were at church for a baptism.  Our home group has a member who lives in a retirement community and runs a Bible Study there.  One of the members of his group wanted to be baptized, so they came to our church to baptize her there.  They had a little service first, and then while she was getting ready, we sang a couple of hymns.  I enjoyed singing the first one.  They didn’t have hymnals, but I knew the words.  I knew the words to the second one, but I couldn’t sing it.  It was “In the Garden.”  As I sat there crying quietly, Kiddo looked up at me and said, “I know why you are crying.”  I smiled at her (though my tears) and looked away.  A few days later she brought it up again, “You were crying because they sang that song at Grandma’s Wedding.”  I really had to laugh at that one.  Funeral Kiddo, funeral!  She just said, “I mix those two up!”

2 Responses to “Sensitive Kid”

  1. Jenny Says:

    I help lead the song service at church. I had to ask not to be the one to lead that song. I knew I would just burst into tears if I did.

  2. hnracademy Says:

    Unfortunately, the older I get the more songs there are that I like to avoid.

Leave a Reply

