Long Time, No Blog

I’m still alive, it has just been a very busy few weeks. So how about a catch-up post?

My nieces and nephews came to visit a couple of weeks ago.  They spent nights at my Mom’s, but were here all day.  I had forgotten how much work it is to keep a 1yo out of trouble.  With my sister’s kids and my kids, the ages were 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 10.  Somehow it seemed easier to keep everyone out of trouble if we went somewhere else, so we spent a lot of time on the go.  We went to the library, the children’s museum, half-price books, the park.  I also put sand in the sand table, cleaned up the basement so they had a good place to play, got out the sprinklers, and made sure that everyone had a bike or trike to ride.  It was a very busy week.

The first 4 days that the “cousins” were here we were also doing standardized testing for Honey and Kiddo.  (My mom didn’t bring them over until 10:00am, so we did a couple of sub-tests every day.)  I got the results back yesterday.  I was a bit surprised.  Kiddo scores were the same as Dearie’s first grade scores (very good).  Honey on the other hand didn’t do as well over-all as I had hoped.  Her scores are good enough for me to turn into the state, but worse than last year.  She is really going to have to work hard next year.  I’m not sure what else I can do to help her, but I am going to have to figure out something.

After the “cousins” left, we had a couple of down days and then we were off to the National Beginner Bible Bowl competition.  The kids did very well in the Round Robin on Monday.  On Tuesday (double elimination) they had a bye the first round, won the next two rounds, and lost the next two rounds.  They tied for 9th place (same as last year).  We had fun at the indoor water park that was attached to the hotel and it was a fun time.  (No one likes loosing of course, and there were a few tears over that, but over-all it was fun.)

Finally, I will leave you with a funny:

Yesterday, Uncle J came up so that we could take him to the Airport.  He is interviewing to be the director of a Montessori school in Alaska.   He would be the budget/fund-raising guy.  Anyway, we get him to the airport and I turn and ask Honey what she would say if I told her that Uncle J was flying on United.  She pipes up with “United Breaks Guitars! and Uncle J is wearing a guitar shirt!”  I told her that it was a good thing that he was flying American then.  All of the kids were pretty sure that Uncle J’s shirt would be ruined if he flew on United.  (If you have no idea what this is all about, watch this You Tube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YGc4zOqozo

Well that about catches you up on everything.  Hopefully I will do better at posting over the summer.

2 Responses to “Long Time, No Blog”

  1. ksb08 Says:

    Glad you survived…I think it would have taken me more than one or two down days to recover.
    About testing, perhaps Kiddo was a bit distracted thinking about what she wanted to do when her cousins arrived…it’s hard to say. Remind me of her grade next year…and I will try to brainstorm and see if any bright ideas pop into my head…but I doubt it because I think you are pretty much right on track with her and well, she’ll get there.

  2. hnracademy Says:

    Kiddo did fine, it was Honey (I know, fake names are hard to keep track of, LOL) whose scores were low. Maybe she was distracted, I don’t really think so but I wasn’t in her head. She will be third grade next year, and we will be doing test prep before the test next year. I didn’t do any this year. I don’t know what else to do. Her reading is really behind and it is holding her back.

Leave a Reply

