She’s Reading!!!

I’m almost afraid to post this.  I have been here before.  There have been times where I thought that Honey would be reading on her own in just a few weeks…   but it never happened.  This time is different!

She is reading to me for about 20min. at a time.  She makes mistakes, to be sure, but they are not the kind of mistakes that would affect comprehension.  She even asked me why I am allowed to put words in a different order while I read, but she is not. (How did she know I do that!?!)  Another really telling sign is that she reads things without realizing it.  Someone picked up a book the other day and Honey read the tag line on the back of the book (big print).  It took me a minute to realize that she had actually read it. This is not something I would ever have expected her to do. She also no longer needs a card under every line and a finger pointing to every word.  She can keep her place as she reads.

For now, I have her reading really easy books.  She has a lot of catching up to do.  (Do you have any idea how many books we have in this house?)  So every day she reads 2-3 easy books.  This will help her to build fluency.  This will help her to build confidence.  I have tried harder books (3-4 grade chapter books), but she is really not ready for them yet.  I bet that she will be soon.

She is not seeing the difference.  To her reading is hard.  It has always been hard and it will always be hard.  The fact that she does not complain about reading anymore, or the fact that she laughs and talks about a book as she is reading it is lost on this 9yo.  But I believe that her impression of reading will change over time.  A lot of time to be sure.  Reading HAS been hard for her for the last 5 years.  (She sounded out her first words at 4yo.  She has been working on reading for 5 years.)  A month of change is not enough for her to believe that there is really a change.  It will come with time.

The last three years have been really hard for me in this department.  I love to read.  Dh likes to read.  Dearie loves to read.  And in the last year, Kiddo has learned to love reading.  What about Honey?  It was about three years ago that I realized that something was wrong.  I did research.  I took her to vision therapy.  It helped, but it didn’t solve the problem.  I tried several different reading programs. I bribed her.  I scolded her. Finally, I took her to The Reading Doctor and she sent us to another doctor for vision therapy.  The first few months, I thought that I was just wasting my money.  I couldn’t see any difference.  In fact, it wasn’t until Honey’s eyes tested BETTER than normal that she really began to take off. (I don’t mean how well she sees, but how well her eyes work together.)  It has been a long three years of trying to figure out what to do, but I am so glad that I didn’t give up. Honey is a really smart kid, and I can’t wait to see what comes next!

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “She’s Reading!!!”

  1. ksb08 Says:

    The love of reading will come. It will take time for her to connect that the progress in her reading ability will make everything else easier. It will take time to build confidence and to get over feeling of dread when there is reading in unexpected places. She’ll get there and she eventually will be so thankful that you didn’t give up on her!!

  2. hnracademy Says:

    You are right, I know. Its funny how she says one thing and act the opposite way, LOL. She has gone out of her way to pick some horse books in the last couple of days. At first I was reluctant because if the book was too hard, then she would be discouraged yet again! But both of the books she picked were very readable for her. I guess I just can’t wait until she wants to read.

Leave a Reply

