More resistance

Just as I expected, Dearie put up a bit of resistance to Math, Science, and English.  For math we just did a few problems to figure out where to start (we will back up just a bit from where we left off).  That wasn’t too bad.  Then came science.  She certainly didn’t want to do it the way I wanted her too, but I think that we worked out a good compromise.  After all, the idea of science is for her to learn the material, not to learn how “I” study.  If she doesn’t do well on her tests, then I will insist that she try some of my study tips.  If she does well on the tests, then she can keep doing things her way.  I did insist that she do one written lab report per unit (approx. two weeks long).  She would rather not do any, but such is life…

She also didn’t like what I asked for in English.  Right now her English textbook is just reading.  The practice exercises come later, after she has read the first unit in the book.  I talked some more about my study tips for helping her remember the material, but of course, my ideas didn’t fly.  However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that she did try to learn the material.  She came to me when she was done and told me about the things she had learned and the methods she had used to memorize the material!  Maybe we will make it through this year after all.

The other two girls seemed to enjoy the second two hours of school.  They liked their new art curriculum.  Honey did well reading to me, and Kiddo enjoyed her reader.  They also worked on their projects for Geography.  This two hour block doesn’t have a lot of heavy work for them.   Overall, the day went pretty well.

After “School” we watched “The Inn of the Sixth Happiness” on Netflix.  It is a good movie about Gladys Aylward, missionary to China.  It is a 2 and a half hour movie, but everyone liked it.  It does have a bit of violence in it as it is set in the middle of a war between the Chinese and the Japanese.  To be honest though, Gladys Aylward saw a whole lot more violence in her life than is shown in the movie.  It is a fine line to walk to give the setting that the people are living in and giving the viewers nightmares.

I still don’t know which day this week we are taking off (it was going to be tomorrow, but now maybe not), but we do have some fun things planned.  Life is not all about school.

 

 

One Response to “More resistance”

  1. Jenny Says:

    It had been so long that I had to look at who was who again. (You may want to update those ages a bit. My DD was very confused and was asking if she was older than Kiddo even though she knows she is not.) Hope this week goes better for you. I like the comment that life is not all about school.

Leave a Reply

