When the week doesn’t line up with the schedule…

I managed to hold on for five weeks.  That is probably a record.  But now, due to being sick, our schedule no longer lines up with the schedule book.  (Today we did the last day of week four, that would/could/should be a Friday?)  Its not a big deal.  I know that.  I have never, ever managed to stick to a schedule, so I’m not sure why I thought this year would be different.

But ever since I realized that we were off, I have tried to figure out how to finish week five by the end of next week. Why do I bother you might ask?  Well, lots of reasons.  The main one is that we get more done in a week if we do one scheduled week in one calendar week.  When we are way far off from the schedule, I don’t worry about it as much as if we are “on” schedule.  This means that I am more likely to take extra days off because we are already way off schedule anyway so what difference will it make?  But those days add up and by the end of the year we have more school left than time and we don’t finish.  I have never finished a Sonlight Core in a year.  I know that it doesn’t matter, but this year I WANT to finish before summer.  I don’t know why, but I really WANT to stay on schedule.

Its not like it is a terribly rigorous schedule.  We only do Sonlight four days a week.  This is totally doable.  So with all of that in mind, we probably will get back on schedule next week.  I did a (very) little extra today, and should be able to complete tomorrow’s assignment, and maybe do a bit extra the next day.  Then with doing a little extra each day that we do school next week, I should finish week six by the end of next week even though we will only get in three days of school next week.  Maybe….maybe….

Leave a Reply

