Math Lesson

We didn’t do school yesterday as we had a family obligation, but Kiddo got her math lesson in anyway.  We were sitting at the breakfast table and Kiddo asked me what was half of 12 and 1/2.  I asked her what was half of a half and she said a fourth.  Then before I could ask her what was half of 12 and 1/2 (she knew that and so was on to the next thing), she asked me what was half of 1/3 and what was half of  1/6.  I grabbed a bowl and drew imaginary lines on it to divide it into thirds.  Then we used our imaginations to divide the thirds in half.  She could easily see that half of 1/3 was 1/6.  I asked her what half of 1/6 was and she thought about it and said 1/12.  But she still wasn’t done with math for the day.  She wanted to know what was half of 3/4.  Yikes, she is only 8yo.  For this one I grabbed a paper and pencil.  I drew a pie and divided it into fourths.  Then we divided each piece in half.  Then we could see that half of 3/4 was 3/8.  She was done asking questions for the day, but she was not done thinking about it.  She told me a bit later that half of 6/4 was 3/4 and half of 3/4 was 3/8.    Oh, and we are not doing anything with fractions in math right now.  I don’t know why she was thinking about it.

(I just asked her why she wanted to know.  She said that it was because she likes to do halves.  Half of 100 is 50, and half of 50 is 25, and half of 25 is 12 and 1/2…  But she didn’t know what half of that was….)

Leave a Reply

