Grief and Poison Control

Today was interesting, to say the least.  It has been a really long time since I have called poison control.  I had to today, but let me back up a bit first…

I was sitting at the computer when kiddo came up to me and said that one of the fish had died.  Okay, dead fish, where did I leave the fish net?  Can I get away with flushing it?  I didn’t have much time to ponder these thoughts because Honey was right behind her… with her hand held out…  yep you guessed it, she was carrying the dead fish.  Sigh.  She was crying and very upset, and the first words out of her mouth were that she didn’t want to flush it.  Sigh again.  I sent Kiddo to get a trowel and sent the two girls out to bury the dumb fish. She had owned it less than two weeks.  It only cost 14 cents.  But alas, she loved that dumb fish.  She has been almost hysterical at times today.  What can I say, it was a dumb 14 cent fish named Jam.

I finally got her calmed down enough to start story time.  The first words of the chapter were a scream, so being the good story reading mom that I am, I scream.  I make it about two more sentences before Kiddo starts screaming.  I stop reading and look up and she has a hand over one eye and a glow stick in the other.  She says that it cracked and got in her eye.  Great!  I don’t even know what is in those sticks.  As I am dragging Kiddo to the sink to start washing out her eye, I yell at Dearie to look up the poison control number.  She yells the number to me and I dial it.  Did you know that Poison Control will put you on hold?  Yep!  Not for long, but imagine me with the phone on one shoulder and splashing water into Kiddo’s eye with the other hand.  I even had Honey helping to hold Kiddo’s hands out of the way.  I was really worried that these chemicals were going to do permanent damage.

Anyway, it turns out that the stuff in glow sticks isn’t that bad.  After getting instructions from Poison Control, I took her upstairs and laid her down in the bathtub (with a towel for a pillow) and poured a lot of water over (and into) that eye.  Then she came back and “rested” her eye while I finally was able to finish the chapter.

What a day!

Leave a Reply

